Triad Techniques (3250)

I was recently looking into techniques to help build or capitalize on Metacognition in my classroom, it has come up now a number of times throughout a number of my PIDP courses. I was looking for reflective opportunities where students could be involved in group work to talk through recent learning or share a prior experience with the topic.

The Student Engagement Techniques Textbook (2010 Barkely) we are using in my PIDP 3250 class lists “Triad Listening” as a technique that could be used. I was very excited when I found this technique as I had just spent a great deal of time participating in a triad in my Coaching Out of the Box course that I had attended through my workplace. While I had known and participated in Triad coaching for problem solving or even leadership coaching, I had not made the connection to bring this into my classroom as a small group technique for discussions.

I think triad discussions would be a great way to either solve a problem or lend some management of group debate on content within the course I am teaching.

Some of the research that I was doing pointed to triad groups as a great way to scaffold the learning and improve metacognition.

There were some slight differences in the roles between a coaching triad and a triad listening group… in all, it was very similar (I apologize in advance for my table below, I am still learning the whole blog formatting and exporting from excel)

                                       Differences
Traid Listening Coaching
Speaker Aims to state their ideas simply and clearly, supporting main idea with concreate examples and avoiding counterproductive communication behaviours such as agression, cynicism and sarcasm Coachee In the role of coachee, the student brings the issue to be considered, agrees to be open and honest in addressing the questions put by the coach and is prepared to take action as a result of the coaching conversation.
Listener Try to forget themselves and concentrate on the other person . Trying to understand the main idea of what the person is saying, while avoiding counter producitve communication behaviours such as judging, advising, sympathizing or kidding. They then use their own words to summarize back to the speaker what he or she said as accuraltey and completely as possible. Coach  In the role of coach the student is responsible for asking probing open ended questions, listening to the coachee, challenging their assumptions and giving feedback, but should not offer solutions or give advice. They may follow a structure,  or may simply ask questions designed to get the coachee to think through the issues and options and move forward to action. The elements of a coaching conversation apply equally well to student peer coaches.
Referee Oversees the exchange, making sure participants stick to the rules and interrupting only to clear up misunderstandings. Observer In the role of observer, the student watches and listens to the coaching conversation and feeds back to the coach and coachee afterwards. The intention is to provide constructive feedback on what has been said, for example, highlighting points that appeared to be particularly effective or less effective. The observer might point out questions that had moved the coachee forward or points where the coach stepped outside the coaching role and offered advice.

Creative Commons License
Triad Techniques (3250) by Bryce Walker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

